photo
Earn up to
$50000
for inviting friends
to get StartUp Bonus
from InstaForex
No investments required!
Start trading without
any investments and risks
WITH NEW STARTUP
BONUS 1000$
GET BONUS
55%
from InstaForex
on every deposit
  • Amazed
  • Amused
  • Angelic
  • Angry
  • Asleep
  • Bashul
  • Bitchy
  • Blah
  • Bored
  • Breezy
  • Brooding
  • Busy
  • Buzzed
  • Chatty
  • Cheeky
  • Cheerful
  • Cold
  • Confused
  • Cool
  • Crappy
  • Cynical
  • Daring
  • Dead
  • Devilish
  • Doh
  • Doubtful
  • Drunk
  • Fine
  • Flirty
  • Goofy
  • Grumpy
  • Happy
  • Hot
  • Hungover
  • Innocent
  • Inspired
  • In_Love
  • Lonely
  • Lurking
  • Mellow
  • Paranoid
  • Pensive
  • Psychedelic
  • Relaxed
  • Sad
  • Scared
  • Shocked
  • Sick
  • Sleepy
  • Sneaky
  • Stresses
  • Tired
  • Twisted
  • Worried
  • Yeehaw
  • Reply to Thread
    Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 7 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 148

    Thread: [GUIDE] Setting up a regular windows Hosting VPS for FOREX trading.

    1. #11
      Moderator
      I am:
      Busy
       
      moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows's Avatar
      Posts
      12,456
      Thanks
      37,161
      Thanked 22,733 Times in 5,530 Posts

      Default

      very informative thread, i like it a lot. Thanks for sharing it, it will be useful for everyone. Should be made into a sticky!

      p/s : any way to make metatrader runs on a linux vps?


    2. #12
      Will work for pips
      I am:
      ----
       
      autotradefx is on a distinguished road autotradefx's Avatar
      Posts
      52
      Accumulated bonus
      8.45 USD (What is this?)
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 18 Times in 5 Posts

      Default Installing Metatrader 4 on a Linux Desktop

      Quote Originally Posted by moneygrows View Post
      very informative thread, i like it a lot. Thanks for sharing it, it will be useful for everyone. Should be made into a sticky!

      p/s : any way to make metatrader runs on a linux vps?
      Ive heard running it on linux has its own share of problems, but yes it can be run with a program called "wine", but woudnt recomend this on a linux VPS webserver though, but again No harm in trying. I have never tried it though as i'm mostly a windows guy

      Anyways here is a link that explains it.

      Installing Metatrader 4 on a Linux Desktop


      Also here is a 5 part video series:

      Linux Disk



      Try Linux before Install



      Linux Installation



      Wine Installation



      Installing metatrader


      Hope this helps.


    3. The Following User Says Thank You to autotradefx For This Useful Post:

      hundred2000k (12-21-2011)

    4. #13
      Moderator
      I am:
      Busy
       
      moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows's Avatar
      Posts
      12,456
      Thanks
      37,161
      Thanked 22,733 Times in 5,530 Posts

      Default

      ive read some tutorials regarding installing it on wine yesterday. Sounds complicated to me (im not a technical guy). Guess the easiest way for me would to use windows.

      Do you know any cheap windows? The cheapest i saw was $12.

      What is the difference between a forex vps and normal windows vps (apart from the price)?


    5. #14
      Will work for pips
      I am:
      ----
       
      autotradefx is on a distinguished road autotradefx's Avatar
      Posts
      52
      Accumulated bonus
      8.45 USD (What is this?)
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 18 Times in 5 Posts

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by moneygrows View Post
      Do you know any cheap windows? The cheapest i saw was $12.

      What is the difference between a forex vps and normal windows vps (apart from the price)?
      Hi the cheapest i found is the one im using now, link is there in the first post. wait a while its gonna get cheaper.

      Understand another important fact, in webhosting there are a few hosting management applications like Plesk, Sql n stuff which you dont need for FOREX trading, so basically an unmanaged windows VPS is what you are looking for, which is also much cheaper. All you need is a Remote access. Search around in Googe, im sure you might find a cheaper one once you know what to look for.

      Im telling you this because im also into web hosting and website development, and I frankly anytime prefer Linux over Windows when it comes to webhosting. Check e-mag.in

      If you ask me, the only differrence i feel, is the latency or the uptime which they claim they have. Basically you need a windows hosting which has a high degree of latency or uptime. We need very high network uptime and VPS stability for Forex trading. Any decent webhosting provider should have this.

      Other than that what they claim to be a a FOREX VPS there is no differrence other than that they have metatrader platforms aldready installed and set to automaticaly reboot, login and stuff, the same stuff i aldready mentioned in my initial post.

      Another important factor is that it depends also on the CPU & the RAM as to how many metatrader platforms you can have simultaneously running at a time. If you are looking at just running 1 or 2, or even 3 it doesn’t matter. Note this in bold n caps :

      "ANY WINDOWS VPS WITH REMOTE ACCESS CAN BE USED FOR FOREX TRADING"
      Last edited by autotradefx; 12-21-2011 at 09:01 AM.


    6. #15
      Moderator
      I am:
      Busy
       
      moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows's Avatar
      Posts
      12,456
      Thanks
      37,161
      Thanked 22,733 Times in 5,530 Posts

      Default

      Last question : What do you think about server location, is it important to have your vps set as close as possible to the broker's server? Im planning on buying a VPS to use with my I** HK account. Should i go with west US, East US or Europe (UK or some other East Europe)


    7. #16
      Will work for pips
      I am:
      ----
       
      autotradefx is on a distinguished road autotradefx's Avatar
      Posts
      52
      Accumulated bonus
      8.45 USD (What is this?)
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 18 Times in 5 Posts

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by moneygrows View Post
      Last question : What do you think about server location, is it important to have your vps set as close as possible to the broker's server? Im planning on buying a VPS to use with my I** HK account. Should i go with west US, East US or Europe (UK or some other East Europe)
      Hmmm. Well thats what i mean by latency or (basically the time taken for the information to travel from your server to the brokers server) that you have to find out by testing only, technically the sever closer to your broker is supposed to be faster; but again we are not living in an ideal world. You just wont know it until you practically try it out. As the data could be routed through anywhere. It mainly depends on what Internet lines they are connected to: example T1, T2 or T3 internet connectivity. (Eitherway a VPS would have better latency than most regular home or office connections)

      Frankly it dosent matter that much as these speeds are in microseconds. It may make a slight differrence when you are scalping basically, but personally, i dont feel it would matter so much.
      Last edited by autotradefx; 12-21-2011 at 09:30 AM.


    8. #17
      Moderator
      I am:
      Busy
       
      moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows's Avatar
      Posts
      12,456
      Thanks
      37,161
      Thanked 22,733 Times in 5,530 Posts

      Default

      Im looking at

      CPU: 1GHZ, RAM: 512MB, DISKSPACE: 20GB, BANDWIDTH: 1000GB/MONTH
      - is it ok?

      Which operating system should i go for? 32-BIT or 64-BIT?
      Windows 2008™ Server - Web Edition, Server R2 - Standard Edition, Server R2 - Enterprise Edition or Windows 2003™ Server - Web Edition, Server R2 - Standard Edition, Server R2 - Enterprise Edition

      Do i need a domain?


    9. #18
      Will work for pips
      I am:
      ----
       
      autotradefx is on a distinguished road autotradefx's Avatar
      Posts
      52
      Accumulated bonus
      8.45 USD (What is this?)
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 18 Times in 5 Posts

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by moneygrows View Post
      CPU: 1GHZ, RAM: 512MB, DISKSPACE: 20GB, BANDWIDTH: 1000GB/MONTH
      - is it ok?

      Which operating system should i go for? 32-BIT or 64-BIT?
      Windows 2008™ Server - Web Edition, Server R2 - Standard Edition, Server R2 - Enterprise Edition or Windows 2003™ Server - Web Edition, Server R2 - Standard Edition, Server R2 - Enterprise Edition

      Do i need a domain?
      Seems pretty good, say about 7 or 8 metatraders can be run simultaneously if system is in good condition. Best go for Windows Server 2008 R2. Its the server version of Windows 7.
      Whats the price and where?

      Similar config is for "the ponyo" for $12
      https://secure.vpsport.com/vps.html

      No you dont need a domain name unless you plan to host a website on it. No need for Trading.


    10. #19
      Moderator
      I am:
      Busy
       
      moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows has a reputation beyond repute moneygrows's Avatar
      Posts
      12,456
      Thanks
      37,161
      Thanked 22,733 Times in 5,530 Posts

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by autotrade** View Post
      Whats the price and where?
      cant remember where exactly but most site i went were offering those specs for $12 - $12.50
      guess i will try and buy me one vps account early next year. Gotta find me a good EA first..


    11. Dragon
    12. #20
      FX Vampire
      I am:
      Flirty
       
      precap2 will become famous soon enough precap2's Avatar
      Posts
      1,874
      Accumulated bonus
      732.00 USD (What is this?)
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 43 Posts

      Default

      Very detailed information. I understand every step clearly. I wanted to know if I could run mt4 on Linux server because I have a service provider that offers Linux for $3.50 and you can pay for 6months to get 6 months free. That's very interesting compared to my current Win Server at $19/month. Their customer service says I can use a software called WINE (Windows Emulator) to run Windows software on Linux, but I don't even have a Linux computer to start doing something about it. Maybe all of us should join in this try if you know someone that has a Linux system.
      When price hits support 10 in one day - buy; if it hits resistance 10 in the same day, buy a helmet and trench coat. There will be war!
      Mystery is the final product of ignorance.
      Hey! What's ma chart doin'


    Reply to Thread
    Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 7 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts